To know if someone blocked you on Venmo, try searching for their account in the Venmo contact search bar. If you can’t find their account, you may have been blocked. However, this could also mean that they’ve deleted their Venmo account.
Venmo doesn’t send notifications for blocked accounts, so you won’t be alerted if someone blocks you.
Have you blocked someone recently or feel like you’ve been blocked by someone? It isn’t difficult at all to find out if someone blocked you on Venmo. Read on for a step-by-step guide
Apart from being a secure and convenient medium for exchanging money, one of Venmo’s biggest attraction points is its social features. The app allows users to not only send each other cash but also post on their feed inside the app and interact with other contacts seamlessly.
However, often you get to such a stage in life where you might want to filter someone out of your life. In such cases, you might want to know what happens then.
Also, there are ways to tell if someone has blocked you on Venmo. So, tag along to learn all about them.
How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Venmo
While this method is a way to tell if someone has blocked you on Venmo, it can also mean that the suspected user may have just deleted their Venmo account. But even if you think they’ve deactivated their account, don’t make things awkward by asking them personally. They actually might’ve blocked you and don’t want to be rude about it!
Nonetheless, let’s get into the step-by-step guide on how to know if someone has blocked you on Venmo.
- Log in to your Venmo account: Open the Venmo app, and make sure you’re logged in to your account.
- Select the “Pay or Request” option: Click on the blue button to go into the page where you enter the other user’s details.
- Type the user’s name: If you suspect someone has blocked you, enter their name in the contact search bar. If they were already in your contact list, their name wouldn’t show up now if they’ve blocked you. However, this could also mean that they’ve deleted their Venmo account.
- Click on “See more results” if they weren’t a contact: If the user weren’t in your contact list, you’d need to click on the “see more results” option, which shows you users who aren’t in your contact list. If you don’t find them here, that’d either mean that they’ve blocked you or that they’ve deleted their Venmo.
Finally, there’s a sure way of telling if you’ve been blocked. You can merely ask another Venmo user to look up their account. If the account pops up to them but not you, that should confirm the blocking action.
How to Block Someone on Venmo
If you have someone that you want to block on Venmo, it’s more or less identical to blocking a person on any other social media platform.
Just head on to that user’s profile by searching for them, and click on the three dots in the top right corner.
Afterward, click the block option. Then, a confirmation message will pop up, so you’ll have to select “Block” again, and you’ll be good to go.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Venmo
When you block someone on Venmo, they won’t be able to send you messages, go to your profile, or even see your profile pop up if they search for it. This ensures that users have complete control of who they want to share their personal information with. You will not see their profile in search.
After all, security should be one of the top priorities for most social media companies.
Blocking someone on Venmo won’t send them notifications of any sort. It’s a private action of which only you’ll know. Nevertheless, in the same ways that we’ve mentioned above in the article, they can also figure out if you’ve blocked them.
Moreover, your transaction history with them, if you had any, will remain visible to them after you’ve blocked them. However, all future transactions, profile details, and feed posts will be hidden from the blocked person.
Nonetheless, you’ll have to keep in mind that not showing up on the search results isn’t always indicative of the user having blocked you.
It can also mean that they’ve simply stopped using Venmo, which leads to their account being taken off the Venmo servers indefinitely.
Hiding Your Transaction History Without Blocking on Venmo
If you were thinking of just keeping your transaction history hidden from someone instead of having to block the person completely, then you can do that as well.
Venmo allows users to keep their transactions private from other users. You can opt to keep your default setting private, or you could adjust the privacy of individual transactions.
All you need to do is head on over to the app or the website, make sure you’re logged in and go to the Settings section. From there, select “Privacy”, and you can choose your preference for “Past Transactions”.
However, if you’ve made a questionable purchase recently and don’t want your friends and family to find out about it, then you can also directly hide just that transaction. You can do this by going to the payment or purchase section, selecting the privacy option of the transaction, and just choosing what type of privacy you’d prefer for it.
Last but not least, if you need further information about protecting your privacy on Venmo, you can head on to Venmo’s webpage, which discusses it in more detail.
If you want to block someone on Venmo, it’s a relatively simple process that barely takes 3 or 4 taps on the screen to execute. Getting to figure out if someone has blocked you also requires you to search for the user and see if they show up on the list or not.
So, if you can’t see one of your friends on Venmo anymore, and you’re thinking, “can you block on Venmo”, then it may very well be true that they don’t want to do any financial interaction with you.
But it can also mean that they’ve simply deactivated their account.
Did you find this article helpful? Let us know in the comments below!